Mooo + Oink = MOINK – Smoked Bacon Wrapped Meatballs

First off I have to give credit where credit is due. Larry Gaian of the blog BBQGrail is the inventor of these incredibly tasty treats. here is his web page for reference

Here is some history on how the MOINK Ball was developed

But I will show you step by step how I made my batch earlier today.

First I went to a local chain called Almost perfect, that sells Frozen foods and there you can buy a 1.36 kilo bag (3 lbs) of Cooked Beef Meatballs Italian Style they are about 1 inch in size.

I took out 48 meatballs and put them in a Ziplock bag along with about 1 cup of Kraft Italian Salad dressing along with a Tbs of the rub noted below as a Marinade,  and put them in the fridge for a few hours to defrost.

I also took 48 toothpicks and put them in a cup of water, but I should have soaked them a lot earlier so they would not char later on.

Then I opened up a package of Bacon and cut the slices in half and trimmed off some of the fat from one end.

I wrapped the meatballs with Bacon and held it in place with a tooth pic

Once that was done I took my Road Kill Grill Spices that were given to me at Christmas and gave them a good coating of rub (you can use your favorite Pork Rub for this).

The next step is to get the grill ready

first i made up a Smoke pack with a few chunks of Cherry wood that I had cut down in my back yard a couple of years back, (I had them soaking in water for an hour) and wrapped them in Foil and then poked a few holes in the top with a fork and placed it over the heat side of the BBQ and then I wrapped the grate on the right side of the grill with foil to make cleanup a little easier later. I then placed the MOINK balls on the warming rack on the side that would be turned off so that I get indirect heating from the BBQ. I set the BBQ to high at first on the left burner but after a few minute lowered the temp to low, wanting about 200 -250 F at most.

I let them cook and smoke for about 1 hour to 1 hour 15 minutes (your time may vary, you want the bacon to be at the crispness that you like. Myself I like it just a little crisp at this point I tried one of the MOINKS (without sauce and it was a wonderful treat just like it was.)   then I mixed up some sauce, When I was in Almost perfect they had the Canton Grilling sauce with Steak Spice on for $1.99 a bottle, and I mixed 1/2 a cup of that with an equal amount of Grape Jelly (the jelly helps to make the sauce into a nice glaze that sticks to the MOINK) Since I was by myself at the time I only coated some of the MOINKS with the sauce and put them back on the grill for 5 minutes. the rest I took off the grill and put them in a bowl as I was going over to a friends house later that evening for a small get together. after 5 minutes I ate a few of the MOINKS that were ready and it was like heaven on a stick! then I packed up the rest and went to my friend’s house where I lit up his BBQ, dipped the rest of the MOINKS in the BBQ sauce mixture and heated them for 5 minutes. The whole bunch were scarfed down by the 4 of us in a matter of minutes.

If you have never tried a MOINK before you must try this out, they are amazing to say the least. Next time I may try with Swedish Meatballs or just make up my own meatballs from scratch mixed with some Onion soup mix and shredded Cheddar cheese.

For those interested I made a quick youtube on the MOINKS I made as well.

I just found out that next Saturday June 5th 2010 will be World MOINK Ball Day you can go here for more information  If you make these add yourself to the World Map of MOINK makers  I am the Light Blue one in Canada,

Here is my Blog post on my contribution to World MOINK Ball Day

About Wilfred Reinke
Married with 3 kids and 2 grandkids, Owner of Oshawa Laser Supply Computers-Printers-Paper Sales, Loves to BBQ and learning more about it.

10 Responses to Mooo + Oink = MOINK – Smoked Bacon Wrapped Meatballs

  1. Andrew says:

    -cries- I’m hungry -puppy dog eyes-

  2. Chef Dennis says:

    dam…..those look good!!! wrap anything in bacon and I’ll eat it….I made bacon wrapped tofu once….the only way I will eat it…lol..
    cheers
    Dennis

    • Wilfred Reinke says:

      They taste as good as they look, I hope you will be participating in the World MOINK Ball Day on Saturday June 5th (details at the end of this post)

      Thanks for dropping by to read.

  3. Jason says:

    Looking good.. Going to be doing some more for tomorrow!

  4. Pingback: My contribution to World Wide MOINK Ball Day June 5th 2010 « Oshawa Ogre's Views, News & BBQ's

  5. rezagnd says:

    Not bad article, but I really miss that you didn’t express your opinion, but ok you just have different approach

  6. Pingback: My contribution to World MOINK Ball Day June 5th 2010 « WIlfred Reinke

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

