Low and Slow Pork Back Ribs 3-2-1 GO!

  

Yesterday I looked to see what I had in the freezer and found I still had some ribs that I bought quite a while ago when they were on sale  

A two pack of Pork Back ribs.  

Now I do not always just pull out a recipe that I have had success with before and just do it again, this time I decided to give a shout out to my Twitter friends. I follow a lot of great Guys and Gals that are into food as much as I am (if not a lot more) so I posted a tweet asking if someone had a good home-made rub recipe for ribs. In less than 10 minutes  

Chris Perrin

 

Chris Perrin (twitter @BlogWellDone)   dug one up for me that was on his blog.  

KC Masterpiece Rib Rub

This is the standard rib rub used at KC Masterpiece.  While it has satisfied many a hungry rib eater, cooks are welcome to experiment with this mix to suit their personal tastes.  

I think next time I will cut back on the Salt as My wife felt it was too salty, Maybe only 1/2 cup  

Ingredients  

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup kosher salt  
  • 1/4 cup chili powder
  • 1/4 cup paprika
  • Black pepper (I used 3 tsp)
  • Cayenne pepper (I used 1 tsp)
  • Onion powder (I used 1 tsp)
  • Garlic powder (I used 1 tsp)
  • Cumin  (I used 1 tsp)
  • Ancho chili powder This one I could not find in the Bulk store so I skipped it

1. Mix the brown sugar, salt, chili powder, and paprika in a bowl.
2. Add as much of the black pepper, cayenne, onion powder, garlic powder, cumin, and ancho chili powder as desired.  McPeake suggests using a 3:1 ratio of black pepper and cayenne.  Other ingredients should be added to taste.
3. Cover both sides of the ribs with the rub mixture.  Cover the meat side of the ribs with twice as much rub as the bone side.  

Yield:  About 3 cups of rub  

Recipe courtesy of Chef Richard McPeake.  

Before I added the rub to the ribs I removed the membranes from the bone side of the ribs, you do this by using a spoon to grab the membrane from over one of the bones and when you have some that you can grab, use a paper towel and hold the membrane and just tear it off, it should come off in no more than 1 or 2 pieces. by doing this the spices can penetrate the bone side of the meat and it is easier to eat as well as the membrane is very tough. Next I coated both sides with yellow mustard, which will help to keep the rub in place and add some nice flavour. I used about 1 cup of the rub to cover both sides of the 2 racks of pork.  

As you can see I am cooking the ribs on the warming rack of my gas BBQ on the right side so my heat source is only the left side of the BBQ and I put a Cherry smoke pack that I made up over the flames (I used 2 packs each having 4 pieces of Cherry wood that were soaked in water beforehand, wrapped in foil and punctured with a fork to let smoke escape) I also used a foil pan with water and 1/4 cup of the rub added for steaming. This next picture shows how the racks looked after 1.5 hours smoking.  I decided on the 3-2-1 method of cooking which is to cook 3 hours at a temp of 220 F and then wrap the racks in foil and cook for 2 more hours and finally take off the foil and cook for 1 hour more (sauce gets added in the last 20 minutes)   

after 3 hours I removed the racks and covered them with foil and put them back on the grill but this time bone side up.  

After 2 more hours on the grill in the foil I undressed them and you can see how juicy they are!   

They were then put back on the grill for 1 additional hour and during this time I sprayed some apple juice on the tops of the ribs…. Just because I can!  

  

I had such good luck with my sauce from the MOINK Balls from last weekend that I decided to use Grape jelly one more time but this time I mixed it 50/50 with a Presidents choice Beer and Chipotle Smokin’ Stampede BBQ Sauce. It was a great choice  I applied the sauce for the final 20 minutes of the cook, any longer and you risk burning the sauce.  

The wonderful red colour of the sauce was not only good looking to the eye but good licking to the lips!   

They would not of won any competitions for ribs as they fell of the bone,  my dog Annie was keeping an eye on the plates to see if I would drop some, Sorry girl no such luck!.  

About Wilfred Reinke
Married with 3 kids and 2 grandkids, Owner of Oshawa Laser Supply Computers-Printers-Paper Sales, Loves to BBQ and learning more about it.

6 Responses to Low and Slow Pork Back Ribs 3-2-1 GO!

  1. This is a great step by step post! Informative – entertaining – and visually pleasing – very nice job sir! I just ate and now you’ve made me want a rack of ribs.

  2. Chris Perrin says:

    Nice…love how those ribs turned out. That was a really nice vibrant red color on the ribs.

    I’m hungry now, darn it!

    • Wilfred Reinke says:

      Well you can take some of the credit since you supplied me with the good rub recipe.

      I had fun making these

  3. Gary House says:

    Great post! Those ribs look fantastic! What’s on the grill next?

    Gary

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

