Ultimate Meat Lovers BBQ Pizza

A while back I saw a video by the BBQ Pitboys that encouraged me to try a recipe on my Gas Grill that sounded crazy but was so good that friends have asked me to make for them too.

It has been called many things I have called it a “Monster MeatLoaf Supreme” but I consider it to be the best Meat Lovers Pizza ever made!

This recipe can be changed to your own tastes but this is what I came up with.

I mixed together 4 lb.s of Ground Beef along with 2 lbs. of ground Turkey and added 2 packages of Onion soup mix as a binder.

Sometimes I will add in some Soya and or Worcestershire sauce.

Then I grabbed a cookie sheet and placed the beef on it and spread it around so it was about 1 1/2″ thick, leaving about one inch of space between the beef and the edge of the pan.

To that add your favorite BBQ or Tomato sauce and then a good helping of shredded cheese (I like to use a mix of Mild Cheddar and Mozzarella)

Next I cut up and piled on some onions, green and red peppers & mushrooms.

Not enough meat? take some sausages and squeeze them out of their casings and into a skillet, cook it about half way, then spread over top of this monster of a pizza, and then add some sliced tomatoes.

Wait we need more meat! fry up some Bacon Mmmmm Bacon!

I did not add Pepperoni to this one, but if I had it it would of made it to the top!

Time to take a can of Pineapple slices and add them to the top and covered with some more cheese!

To cook this baby, set your grill to cook indirect

If you’re using charcoal then put the coals to the side and place the pan on the other side.

If like myself you cook with gas then turn on one burner on one side and place the pan over the unlit side.

Look for a temperature range of 225 -250 F

This should take anywhere from 1 hour to maybe 2 hours, you want to be able to stick an instant read thermometer in and get a reading of 160 F.

You can also add a few chunks of hard wood to the coals or in a foil pack on the gas grill for some smokey flavour.

The reason for leaving space around the pizza is that as it cooks you will get fat draining from the meat and pooling around the pizza, just use a turkey baster to suck up the grease when needed.

When it is done it will look something like this!

Now you can either just slice it up and serve or put it on a bun as a burger, but I like it by it self, and no need for any other toppings except maybe some more BBQ sauce drizzled on top.

A lot of you maybe think that this will be not healthy, but the fat does drain off, and one or two slices will be very filling.

Next time your wanting  to grill something try this Meat Lovers Pizza, it will not disappoint!

You can also see my YouTube videos making one of these last winter, yup I grill in the winter too!

BBQ Monster MeatLovers Meatloaf Part One

BBQ Monster MeatLovers Meatloaf Part Two

About Wilfred Reinke
Married with 3 kids and 2 grandkids, Owner of Oshawa Laser Supply Computers-Printers-Paper Sales, Loves to BBQ and learning more about it.

5 Responses to Ultimate Meat Lovers BBQ Pizza

  1. Pingback: Ultimate Meat Lovers BBQ Pizza « Oshawa Ogre's Views, News & BBQ's | The Top BBQ Info

  2. Andrew says:

    So who all is helping you eat these :(

  3. Sara Broers says:

    Does this ever look good~ I’m gonna have to try some of this……..my cooking skills are horrible, but this I must try!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

