Review – Grill Charms – Steak Collection

  

After watching an episode of  The Shark Tank I was intrigued by a product called Grill Charms made by Charmed Life Products LLC, according to the show Leslie Haywood, it’s inventor had come up with a great way to know which steak, burger etc. was Rare, Medium Rare, Medium or Medium Well Done.  

She had invented these little charms that you stick into the meat before cooking and your then able to quickly see which piece of meat was to be done to which doneness.  

As with any pictures on my blog, if you want to see a picture in it’s original size just click on it.   

Ontario Gas BBQ a Canadian Distributor of Grill Charms

  

I found a Canadian distributor, Ontario Gas BBQ just North of Toronto http://bbqs.com/ which by the way is a HUGE BBQ Supply store that I could spend hours in, but about them another day.  

The charms were right by the cash register on the main counter. The cost I paid was $19.95 Cdn.  

The first thing I noticedwas that the packaging is well made and re-usable in the sence that you can take off the lid from the package, take out the charms and use them for your cooking and after cleaning return them to the package for storage in your cupboard or drawer.  

3 Steaks with 3 different outcomes needed

  

To test out the effectiveness of these Grill Charms I pulled out three steaks to grill on my BBQ, I wanted to cook one Raer, another Medium Rare and the last was to be Medium.  

Grill Charms serrated post edges hold securely in the meat

  

The Grill Charms Steak Collection set comes with 2 each of R for Rare and MR for Medium Rare and then one each of  M for Medium and MW for Medium Well.  

They are made from well made Stainless Steel and are sturdy along with being very easy to read.  

Grill Charms inserted in the meat just before grilling

  

Now to be perfectly clear, these charms do not tell you when the food is cooked to perfection, they are only meant to distinguish one steak from another during cooking and plating.  

As the steaks are flipped the charms are now on the grill side of the steak, since there was 2 of each of the R & MR Charms I could of inserted on both sides of those ones, though this time I had not.  

Waiting a little longer before flipping the medium steak.

  

I was very Impressed how easy this was. Most of the time I may remember which steak was which but by the time I took them inside to plate I was mixed up, but not with Grill Charms!
The steaks are done…. Let’s eat!

After Dinner it took only a moment to wash the Grill Charms by hand and put them back into their original box. They made my job as the Griller a lot easier and less stressful.  

I will be using them any time I am cooking Steak or Lamb on the grill.
There are other Grill Charms sets available including a Spicy collection that has a set of 6 Mild, Medium and Spicy Charms or you can pick up a set of 6 from the  Charmed Life Collection and there is also a Pink Collection where 10% of proceeds are donated to finding a cure for Breast Cancer.
 
Single Grill Charms are also available from the website.
You can have a look at these sets by visiting the Grill Charms Website here.. http://grillcharms.com/catalog/index.php
I have also spoken via twitter with the inventor and company owner Leslie Haywood, and I founder her very friendly and helpful with any questions that I had, you can follow Leslie on twitter here .. http://twitter.com/grillcharmer 
The home page for the Grill Charms website is …. http://www.grillcharms.com/index.html which you will find is well designed and full of great information.
I am not a big fan of jewelery but these Charms for the Grill are a hit in my view!

   

About Wilfred Reinke
Married with 3 kids and 2 grandkids, Owner of Oshawa Laser Supply Computers-Printers-Paper Sales, Loves to BBQ and learning more about it.

2 Responses to Review – Grill Charms – Steak Collection

  1. Hanneke says:

    hey, congrats! looks real good :-)

  2. Pingback: Review – Grill Charms – Steak Collection « Oshawa Ogre's Views … | The Top BBQ Info

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

