Southern Rhubarb Bread Recipe – Mountain Style

Ever since we moved into our present home about 15 years ago we have had Rhubarb growing in the back of our yard.

I think we made some jelly out of it once and we have given some away to my Mother but most of the time it would just get mowed down by the mower.

This year I did not want to waste it, so I asked one of the best online food writers in the business Cyndi Allison for some advice on what I could do with it, living in the south she suggested her recipe for Rhubarb Bread.

 (Link to original recipe)

And today I gave it a try, and Wow am I ever glad I did. This bread came out of the oven about half an hour ago and I had the first piece (the end is always my favorite)

Here is how I made this…

Southern Rhubarb Bread Recipe – Mountain Style

You need

1 cup of sugar mixed with 1/2 cup of butter (1 stick) and add 1 TBS Grated Orange peel and 1 tsp of Vanilla extract in a mixing bowl til it is mixed thoroughly.

Then I added 2 eggs (one at a time) while mixing.

In a separate bowl I added 1/4 cup of Flour to 3/4 cup of finely chopped fresh Rhubarb (you can also use frozen if you have it, but do not let thaw) coating the Rhubarb helps to not have the Rhubarb sink in the pan. add to this mixture 3/4 cup of chopped Pecans.

In a 3rd bowl I added 1 tsp of baking soda along with 1/4 tsp of salt to 2 cups of all-purpose flour. Then adding 3/4 cup of Buttermilk to the flour (do not over mix, you only want this to blend evenly otherwise the bread may get tough.

And here is a hint, if you do not have buttermilk just put 1 Tbs of Lemon juice (or white vinegar) in a measuring cup and add 1 cup of milk (I use 1%) stir and let sit 5 minutes, and you have Buttermilk.

I then folded in the Rhubarb mixture and the egg mixture into the flour and milk mixture, combining all together to a nice consistency, no need to over mix it you just want it even, I did this by hand with a spatula.

Pre-heat your oven to 350 F and spoon the mixture into a 9×5 loaf pan (I line mine with parchment paper and sprayed with Pam cooking spray).

Bake for just over an hour, for me it was 1 hour 10 minutes but times will vary with the stove you use, mine happens to be gas.

You cam use a toothpick to poke in the loaf, if it comes out dry it is done.

Let the bread sit in the pan on the counter for 10-15 minutes and then take it out of the pan and onto a cooling rack.

Cut yourself off a slice and spread on some butter, margarine or cream cheese.

Man that was some great tasting bread.

 

Thanks again to my friend Cyndi for the reference you can find here and her blog here 

http://barbequemaster.blogspot.com/ and on Twitter @cyndiallison

About Wilfred Reinke
Married with 3 kids and 2 grandkids, Owner of Oshawa Laser Supply Computers-Printers-Paper Sales, Loves to BBQ and learning more about it.

One Response to Southern Rhubarb Bread Recipe – Mountain Style

  1. Go behind the scenes at the oldest restaurant in the city to visit the wine cellar and the private dining rooms. Measuring Cups Spoons

Leave a Reply

