A Stanley Cup Drought will end in the next 2 weeks

 

So the final for the top prize in the NHL will start on Saturday pitting the Chicago Black Hawks against the Philadelphia Flyers.

The winning team will be taking home the Stanley Cup for the first time in over 30 years!

When I heard the other day that the Flyers have not won in 33 years I was shocked, it seems like only yesterday that I was watching Bernie Parent in goal with Bobby Clarke Leading his team in 1974/75

I remember the days of the Broad Street Bullies and when they played the Leafs in  a series that was so rough and tough that a Goalies Mask was thrown into the crowd during an all out Brawl on the ice and it was hidden and not given back which delayed the game.

Chicago right now is the only team that has been in a cup drought longer than my beloved Maple Leafs, and although I do not want the Toronto Maple Leafs to hold the new standard for futility in the NHL, I am cheering for the Black Hawks to prevail, my guess is that they will win it in Phili in game #6.

The Flyers have Pronger and he has guided 3 teams to the NHL final and the Blackhawks have Hossa and this is his 3rd Cup final in 3 seasons and all with different teams!

I look forward to Saturday and watching the final on CBC’s Hockey night in Canada but I must admit I have lost some interest since there has been no hockey played in a few days, I wish they could have started the final sooner, Playing Hockey in this great BBQ weather seems very wrong.

Speaking of BBQ how about some suggestions of what I can make on the BBQ that will reflect on the Cup Final?

Phili Cheese Steak perhaps? or Chicago style Pizza? any suggestions just leave a comment.

About Wilfred Reinke
Married with 3 kids and 2 grandkids, Owner of Oshawa Laser Supply Computers-Printers-Paper Sales, Loves to BBQ and learning more about it.

2 Responses to A Stanley Cup Drought will end in the next 2 weeks

  1. Andrew says:

    Well how about philly cheesesteak pizza and I come have some lol

    I really hope the Hawks win so I can make fun of the leafs some more hahaha

Leave a Reply

