Bacon of Mass Destruction – The Bacon Bomb

Saturday was supposed to be the day that I went to the Toronto’s Beach Rib-fest but with the rain that was in the forecast I decided to put that off til the Sunday. So what to do Saturday? My wife had to work a 16 hour day driving Charter Bus and none of my kids or grand-kids were home either so I decided to BBQ (Ironic that I would cook a ton but for nobody!.

Mind you my Daughters boyfriend was coming over to drop off his cat that i would be cat sitting for a week while he went on a trip to Halifax, so I said to come over at dinner time. Andrew has missed out every time I was cooking either my Ribs, or MOINKS and alike, so this would be a great chance to have him try some of my best BBQ . He would send me messages from hattrick.org (a game that we play on-line) saying how hungry he was for some real food.

Also I was going to my friend Herman’s Saturday night for our weekly hattrick get together  with Bob and they also like my BBQ so I would bring some of what I made to Herman’s

I decided to go all out, I went to the supermarket and bought the ingredients I needed to make MOINKS and a couple of Bacon Bombs and while in the frozen foods store Almost Perfect in Oshawa I found Cheese sticks and pizza rolls with 3 cheeses, (all priced at $10.00 per bag) and I thought to myself, Damn if I can wrap bacon around meatballs why not those too!, so Saturday was going to be an experiment. I had also picked up some fresh Breakfast sausages that I wanted to have to start my day but then I thought, you got it… Bacon Wrapped! This was going to be a big test on my heart, and after this week I will have to eat salads for a while but Bacon is so damn good!

I will get to the Bacon Bombs further down the blog but first I will show you how I put together the appetizers.

First since this was an experiment I only wanted to do a small bunch of each what you see on the plates  was what i wrapped in bacon, there are still lots left in the bags which are in my freezer for a future occasion. The Meatballs were marinated in Kraft Red Pepper with Parmesan dressing.

First I browned up the fresh Breakfast sausage on the Gas Grill in my wonderful Cast Iron Skillet, (including the ones for my breakfast) and when that was done I took them off and put the ones for the bacon experiment and put them in the fridge to cool down, since I wanted them to be in the same state as the other ingredients which were all either pre-cooked or would not need long to do.

The next step was to wrap the Meatballs, Sausages, Cheese Sticks and Pizza Dippers with 1/2 strips of bacon and I used mostly toothpicks except for the sausages which I put onto kabob skewers (remembering to soak any wood sticks for an hour or so before using so that they will not burn up)

This gave me an opportunity to use some of the Pig Rub sent to me from a fellow #BBQclique member on Twitter @SamDogBbq I gave all of the appetizers a generous coating of the rub, I loved the smell of it and the colour.

I then put the appetizers aside while I assembled the Bacon Bombs

Ok I did not really wear a suit for this but it fits in with the bomb theme here.

I wanted to make two different Bacon Bombs to test some combination’s so here is how I assembled the first one.

On the first one I also added Shredded Mild Cheddar Cheese and Pineapple Chunks

I let the Bombs and the appetizers sit in the fridge for one hour to get some mojo from the Pig Rub  and then everything went on to the grill

which was set for Indirect cooking (Fire on the left, Food on the right) ideal temp is in the 250F range.

I also cut some chunks of Cherry wood and placed them in a foil packet to add a smoky flavour (I used 2 foil packs during the cook.

Having the Cheese items explode like that was a bit of a shock, but makes sense, though did not affect the taste of them, still yummy!

Some post cooking notes….

The cheese based appetizers could have come off sooner than the meat ones, , even though they dripped onto the Bombs, I did not mind, I though it was cool that way.

The appetizers take only about 1 hour to 1.5 hrs. to cook.  Where the Bombs took just around 3 hours.

All in all the experiment was a suggest, The Bacon was perfect and mixed well with the Sausages and the cheese based items.

My daughters boyfriend Andrew was overwhelmed by how good the appetizers were and also enjoyed the Bacon Bombs, I brought some of the Bombs with me for friends Herman and Bob to try, and they loved it!

UPDATED June 21 2010….

I still had left-over Bacon Bomb in the fridge so I put a couple of slices on the grill and coated one with @SamDogBBQ’s Yellow Dog Sauce, yum! and the other slice had some Thirsty Cactus Spicy Chipotle BBQ Sauce (very nice flavour!) that I picked up at the Beach Rib-fest in Toronto yesterday.

Five minutes on the grill and it was wonderful, The extra sauces added was fabulous, even got some nice grill marks 🙂

Keep an eye open for my next Blog posting which will be about the Beach Rib-fest, a great time had by all and there will be lots of pics in the next day or two.

Don’t Worry….. Be Grillin! 🙂

About Wilfred Reinke
Married with 3 kids and 2 grandkids, Owner of Oshawa Laser Supply Computers-Printers-Paper Sales, Loves to BBQ and learning more about it.

8 Responses to Bacon of Mass Destruction – The Bacon Bomb

  1. Sara Broers says:

    AWESOME! YUM……..

  2. Melody Jones says:

    Who wouldn’t love this! Great pics to go along with instructions.

  3. Jack B says:

    Woaw, I can’t find SamDog’s brand in my country… I guess I’ll stick with delmonte.
    Gosshh… I’m starving now….

    J

  4. Andrew says:

    The mustard sauce was absolutely fantastic, all the appetizers were great especially the moinks and bacon sausages lol.

Leave a Reply

